(April 25, 2012) GREEN BAY, Wis. — The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. today announced that quarterback Aaron Rodgers and wide receiver Randall Cobb will be honored with the Hall’s awards for ‘Most Valuable Player’ and ‘Rookie of the Year,’ respectively, at the 42nd Packers Hall of Fame Induction Banquet, to be held the evening of July 21, 2012, in the Lambeau Field Atrium. Former head coach Mike Holmgren will become the newest member of the Hall that evening.

Rodgers had an impressive year as he led the team to a franchise-record 15-1 season. In his seventh year with the team, and fourth as starting quarterback, Rodgers guided one of the most explosive offenses in league history. His outstanding season began immediately while becoming only the second quarterback in NFL history to throw three touchdowns in the first quarter of a season opener. He continued showing the same momentum throughout the regular season, while helping the team become NFC North champions. His efforts eventually led to franchise records in every major statistical category, being voted first-team All-Pro (first of his career), being elected as the NFC’s starting quarterback in the Pro Bowl, and winning the NFL’s Most Valuable Player award. Rodgers ended the regular season with an overall passer rating of 122.5 (an NFL record), having completed 343 of his 502 attempts, and set new single-season franchise records with 4,643 yards and 45 touchdowns.

Cobb, a second-round (No. 64 overall) 2011 draft pick out of Kentucky, made his rookie debut with a 108-yard kickoff return for a touchdown during the third quarter of the season opener against the New Orleans Saints. The return not only broke the franchise record, but tied the NFL record for longest kickoff return. The play was voted Play of the Year at the NFL Awards ceremony. Cobb also had a 32-yard touchdown reception in the season opener, making him the first Packers player since 2002 to catch a touchdown pass in his first career game. In his first season, Cobb recorded 25 receptions for 375 yards. He was named a Pro Bowl alternate and to the Pro Football Weekly/PFWA All-Rookie team as a return man.

Tickets for this event are sold out. However, PackersHallofFame.com is giving away a pair of passes or interested parties can call Gwen Borga at 920-965-6984 or e-mail gwenb@phofamer.com to be put on the waiting list. No refunds are available 30 days prior to the event.

* * *
The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. is a non-profit corporation independent of the Green Bay Packers that guides the Hall as a historic national sports venue and educational resource to the Green Bay community and the state of Wisconsin. The Hall raises funds through its annual induction banquet, Golf Classic and other events to develop new exhibits and expand its archives. Historic memorabilia donated by individuals to the Hall may qualify as tax-deductible gifts. For more information visit the Hall online at PackersHallofFame.com.

Originally established in 1967 as a temporary display in the concourse of the Brown County Veterans Memorial Arena, the Hall moved into its own facility in 1976 near Lambeau Field. In 2003, it was relocated to a spectacular new, 25,000-square foot facility in the Lambeau Field Atrium. The Hall of Fame is open on non-game days from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Hours may vary on game days and holidays. For more information, contact the Hall of Fame at 920-569-7512.

# # #

Media Contact:
Stephanie Schallhorn
On behalf of the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc.